Skip to Content
Everything Else

Russell Westbrook is your Ogle Madness X Champion

1:15 PM EDT on April 5, 2017

A great season for Russell Westbrook just got better.

Just hours after tying Oscar Robertson's single-season triple double mark, the Brodie made history for a second time by defeating defending champ Lacey Swope in the Ogle Madness X Championship game. He won by a count of 828 - 616.

Here he is acknowledging the victory:

In typical Westbrook fashion, the path to glory was not easy and didn't come without controversy. First, Russ fended off a rambunctious band of Street Racers in the Final Four with a miracle finish. Then, in the Championship match, an Internet troll who's really good at writing computer scripts tried to hack the results in Swope's favor. Unlike the United States government, we took the ballot rigging seriously and removed the illegitimate votes.

We'd like to congratulate Russ for taking home this prestigious crown. I'm sure he'll have a lot to say about it tomorrow before his game against Memphis. We'd also like to thank him for all his contributions to Oklahoma City and for sticking around while other players ran off like cry baby cowards.

Here are a few other Ogle Madness notes:

The Clark Matthews Ogle Madness Humanitarian Award goes to the Homeless Puppeteer at 23rd and Penn. He defied all odds and made it all the way to the Elite 8.

The Brent Skarky Participation Trophy goes to MurderNova, Bubba Mudpie, Carburetor Gator and all the other members of Street Outlaws for taking off the lady helmets and getting their fans to vote. We appreciate all the traffic you sent our way.

Anyway, I guess that's it for Ogle Madness X. I'd like to thank our new TLO intern Brad for setting up all the polls and matchups. I'd also like to thank all the Moles, readers and haters who voted and participated. We really appreciate it. Hopefully we'll do it again next year.

Stay in touch

Sign up for our free newsletter